Sigma Theta Tau Mu Chi

On This Page


Sigma Theta Tau seal‌The Mu Chi Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International was introduced to Fairfield University Egan School in 1989. As the semester came to a close, the newly appointed Acting Dean of the School, Dr. Nancy Fry Fasano, and several faculty members, alumnae and students formed an honor society that would promote and recognize leadership, scholarship, research and outstanding achievement in the nursing profession. Chapter endorsement by Sigma Theta Tau International followed in 1992.

Since then, the Chapter has grown to nearly 400 members. In 2001, the Mu Chi chapter received four newsletter awards at the 36th Sigma Theta Tau International Biennial Convention.

Members of Mu Chi are committed to fostering nursing leadership, research, and creativity. Standards for membership include demonstrated excellence in scholarship and/or exceptional achievement in nursing. Several Mu Chi members are active on both regional and international committees of Sigma Theta Tau International. Remarkable in its short history, the Mu Chi Chapter has received the prestigious "Chapter Key Award" four times. This award is presented to active chapters who exhibit overall excellence in achieving the goals and mission of Sigma Theta Tau International.


President: Susan Bartos, PhD, RN, CCRN
Vice President: Cynthia Bautista PhD, APRN, FNCS
Secretary: Kathy Saracino, MSN, RN
Treasurer: Karen Burrows, DNP, MASHSM, RN, CCRN, C-EFM
Faculty Counselor: Suzanne Chaplik, PhD, RN and Rose Iannino-Renz, DNP, APRN, FNP, MSN, CWS

Succession Chair: Sally Gerard  DNP, RN, CDE, CNL and Kelly Sullivan DNP, APRN, FNP-BC
Governance Chair: Erica Wuchiski, BSN, RN
Newsletter Editor: Linda Roney EdD, RN-BC, CPEN

Mu Chi Committees

Governance Committee

The Governance Committee shall oversee Bylaws compliance, make recommendations for Bylaws changes, and oversee member and chapter eligibility issues.
Committee Chair: Carole Pomarico, MSN, MA, RN


Leadership Succession Committee

The Leadership Succession Committee shall develop members in organizational leadership roles across the span of their careers, mentor members to assume organizational board and officer positions at all levels of organizations. The committee shall select nominees and prepare the biennial ballot. The ballot will be sent to the Board of Directors of Sigma Theta Tau International at least (2) months prior to the meeting and to the chapters at least one (1) month prior to this meeting.
Committee Chair:   Kathleen Lovanio, DNP, APRN,

Biennial Awards

  • Mu Chi received the International Mildred Adams Heritage Award in 1997.
  • Chapter Key Award for Excellence in 1995, 1997, 1999, and 2001.
  • Chapter Newsletter Awards Awarded at the 36th Biennial Convention:
  • Editorial Excellence Award - "Nursing Research and the Law" by Gayle Sullivan, JD, RN
  • New Article Award - "Nursing Research, Evidence Based Practice" by Patti Dykes and Kathleen Wheeler
  • Special Edition Award - "Volunteerism"
  • Feature Article Award - "Making a Difference: World Wide Volunteering" by Karen Ann Simmons

Search Results