Fairfield University
2018 Fairfield Student Achievement Award Winners Announced | April 2018 | Fairfield University News Channel

2018 Fairfield Student Achievement Award Winners Announced

Left to Right: Zavon Billups, Aura Cristina Agudelo Rivera, Justine Ferrara, Camille Giacovas, and Brendan Hunt.

On Wednesday, April 18, five Fairfield University undergraduates will be recognized for their leadership and outstanding achievements, at the Student Achievement Awards.

The recognition ceremony will be held at 4 p.m. in the Aloysius P. Kelley, S.J. Center Presentation Room.

Zavon Billups ‘18 will receive the prestigious St. Ignatius Loyola Medal for “exemplifying the true spirit of a Jesuit education” through his high academic standards and substantial involvement in community service. In the words of one nominator, "Zavon is an outstanding scholar, activist, and fierce advocate for social justice. In the 'true spirit of a Jesuit education,' he has grown and developed as a student; he has also immersed himself in every aspect of student life. His impact inside and outside the classroom on this campus is unquestioned." Among his many accomplishments, Billups, a double major in politics and philosophy, is the founder and president of the Black Student Union, president of Common Ground, and is also a resident assistant, a mentor for Upward Bound, a class of 2018 senator, and a member of Model UN. He is on the Dean’s List, and is a recipient of the Martin Luther King Ripple of Hope Scholarship and the Christopher B. Love Academic Achievement Award. He also volunteered for the immersion service trip to Tanzania, and the Simply Smiles Reservation service trip.

The William J. Kramer ’60 Humanitarian Award will be awarded to Camille Giacovas ‘18 for her “commitment to volunteerism and service to an external community activity that best exemplifies the Ignatian tradition of being men and women for and with others.” As a student at Fairfield, Giacovas founded the Recycle for Refugees program and was a mentoring director at the Connecticut Institute for Refugees & Immigrants. She also is a writer for HerCampus and was editor-in-chief of Volume II, Issue II of The Undergraduate Journal of Global Citizenship. She is a member of Phi Beta Kappa, Alpha Mu Gamma and Dean’s List, and was named the Newman Civic Fellow and Humanities Institute Fellow during her time here at Fairfield.

Three students will receive the Student Achievement Award for their dedication and enhancement of a University program.

Aura Cristina Agudelo Rivera ’18, a molecular biology pre-med track major, won for her contribution in advancing biomedical research. Throughout her time at Fairfield, Rivera has worked as a biology and psychology research assistant, a chemistry lab assistant, and a research associate at St. Vincent’s Hospital in Bridgeport, CT. Additionally, she is a Relay for Life team captain, the editor-in-chief of The Manor, and a member of JTB Heart Club.

Justine Ferrara ’18 will receive the Student Achievement Award for her contributions to the Fairfield University Human Library Project. A computer science major, Ferrera is a member of the Honors Program and Dean’s List. During her time at Fairfield, she worked as the project coordinator for the Human Library project, and she was a research assistant for the Sikorsky Aircraft partnership with Fairfield. Also, she was a volunteer at the campus garden, a Service for Justice mentor, a Relay for Life team captain, and a clarinetist for the University’s pep band and orchestra. Additionally, she was a Cura Personalis mentor, the College Democrats marketing and social media director, a service learning associate, and she volunteered for two immersion trips to Jamaica and New Jersey.

Brendan Hunt ‘18 will receive recognition for his development of the Students for St. Baldrick’s Foundation. Hunt is the founder and president of the St. Baldrick’s Chapter at Fairfield. He works as a program coordinator for the Office of Student Engagement and serves as co-chair of New Student Programs. Additionally, he is a member of the Marketing Club, the Proactive Investments Club, She’s the First, and the Wounded Warrior Project.

For more information, please visit the Student Achievement Awards website or contact Rita Sherwood at rsherwood@fairfield.edu or 203-254-4211.


Student Achievement Awards Ceremony

Date: Wednesday, April 18
Time: 4 p.m.
Location: Aloysius P. Kelley, S.J. Center Presentation Room

Additional Details:


Additional Details:


Top Story

Last modified:  Tue, 10 Apr 2018 13:22:55 EDT

Your news@fairfield Stories for Friday, April 13, 2018

30th Annual Fairfield Awards Dinner a Success with More Than $1 million for Scholarship and Counting

Read the Article

Fairfield University 2018 Commencement — Sunday, May 20, 2018

Read the Article

Fairfield's Annual “Shark Tank”-Style Competition Takes Center Stage on April 26

Read the Article

Students “Brave the Shave” for Childhood Cancer Awareness

Read the Article

Fairfield Rolls Out Red Carpet for Annual Student Film Festival, April 27

Read the Article

Fairfield Students’ Research Takes National Stage at ACS Meeting in New Orleans

Read the Article

DBR's En Masse

Emmy Award-Nominated Composer Brings Free Public Performance to Campus on April 29

Read the Article

Search Results