Egan Faculty Newsbreakers

Egan Faculty Newsbreakers

Through research, innovation, and expertise, the Egan School faculty are making their mark in the healthcare field through publications, fellowships, grants, and awards.

Professor of the Practice Steve Belmont, DNP, MSN and Nancy Moriber, PhD, CRNA, APRN completed the Education in Palliative and End-of-life Care (EPEC) training program in the fall.

Associate Professor Jaclyn Conelius, PhD, FNP-BC, FHRS, CHSE, FNAP completed the AACN 2020 Digital Innovation Boot camp.

Professor of the Practice and Assistant Dean Karen Corcoran, DNP, APRN, PMHNP-BC completed the Telebehavioral Health Institute Board Certification in Telehealth Level I and Level II.

Associate Professors Sally Gerard, DNP, RN, CDE, CNL and Alison Kris, PhD, MSN, RN were both promoted to full professor

Dr. Gerard’s book Clinical Nurse Leader Certification Review 3rd Edition, was published by Springer Publishing Company.

Associate Professor Diana Mager, DNP, RN-BC won the Friend to Healthcare at Home award by the Connecticut Association for Healthcare at Home for her work in advancing the home care and hospice industry in Connecticut and nationwide.

Assistant Professor Nancy Moriber, PhD, CRNA, APRN was selected as a reviewer for the Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs (COA). She will also serve as president-elect for the Connecticut Association of Nurse Anesthetists (CTANA).

Professor Eileen O’Shea, DNP, APRN, PCNS-BC, CHPP and Associate Professor Linda Roney, EdD, RN-BC, CPEN, CNE featured their Teaching Tip as a video abstract on the Nurse Educator website.

Under the leadership of Professor of the Practice Kim Oliver, PhD, LCSW, CSAT, the Social Work Department now has their own chapter of the Social Work Society Phi Alpha – Chi Psi Omega.

Professor Eileen O’Shea, DNP, APRN, PCNS-BC, CHPP completed the one year journey through the Ignatian Spiritual exercises.

Visiting Professor Gina Peterson, MSN, RN, CHPN, CHSE passed the Certified Health Simulation Educator examination.

Assistant Professor Jennifer Schindler-Ruwisch, DrPH was awarded an institutional research grant for “Breastfeeding Perspectives: Reactions to Breastfeeding Imagery and Social Norms.”

Associate Professor Kathryn Phillips, PhD, ANP-BC completed the Telebehavioral Health Institute’s Board Certification as a Telehealth Professional Level II.

Assistant Professors Tanika Eaves Simpson, PhD, MSW and Dorothy Vittner, PhD(c) MSN, BSN were both approved to take pre-tenure leaves during the next academic year.

Assistant Professor Tanika Eaves Simpson, PhD, MSW was selected to serve on the Board of Directors for The Connecticut Association for Infant Mental Health (CT-AIMH), a non-profit professional organization offering training in infant/early childhood development and promotion of secure attachment, and early relationships to child welfare, early intervention, Early Head Start, and home visiting programs across the state.

Professor of the Practice Kelly Sullivan, DNP, MSN has been named the new project coordinator for the Matter of Balance falls prevention program.

Professor Kathleen Wheeler, PhD, APRN, FAAN received the 2020 NYU Rory Myers College of Nursing Maes-McInnes Alumni Award for outstanding work in clinical innovation on behalf of professional nursing.

Professor Kathleen Wheeler, PhD, APRN, FAAN published two new books with Spring Publishing Company: Psychotherapy for the Advanced Practice Psychiatric Nurse: A How-To Guide for Evidence-Based Practice (ed.), 3rd edition and Case Study Approach to Psychotherapy for Advanced Practice Nurses.  

Tags:  Egan School


Recent News

Fairfield Wins MAAC Commissioner's Cup

Read the Article

Trustee Honors Fr. Blaszczak With Naming of $500,000 Fund to Support Fairfield Bellarmine Students

Read the Article

Coach Carly Thibault-DuDonis to Headline Hall Neighborhood House Celebrity Breakfast, June 27

Read the Article

CAS Professor and Student Present at Sex Differences Conference in Norway

Read the Article

Fairfield Dolan Succeeds at Business Analytics Competition

Read the Article

Premiere Lacrosse League Returns to Campus, July 19-20

Read the Article

Search Results