Fairfield University
| April 2015 | Fairfield University News Channel

April is Inspired Writers Month

Fairfield University will host three celebrated authors – Rachel Basch, Hollis Seamon and Michael Sweeney – this April through the Inspired Writers Series.

Rachel Basch will speak at the Fairfield University Bookstore on Wednesday, April 15 at 7 p.m. to discuss her novel The Listener, a story that explores the ways in which we conceal and reveal our identities. Ann Hood, bestselling author of The Knitting Circle, says, “Rachel Basch writes with great insight and a big heart.” This event is free and open to the public and will be presented by the MFA in Creative Writing and the Learning for a Lifetime programs.

Hollis Seamon, author of Somebody Up There Hates You: Writing For Your Life, will be discussing her novel at the Barone Campus Center Oak Room at 5:30 p.m. on Monday, April 20. The novel tells the tale of Richard Casey, a funny, smart-mouthed, cancer stricken seventeen-year old, who finds love at an unusual time: during his final week of hospice care. Publishers Weekly said, “Even in hospice, a lot can happen in a short time... Being near death doesn’t mean abandoning hope for the life that remains.” 

This reading will be preceded by a Writing Illness Panel Discussion led by Seamon, Meredith Kazer, Dean of Fairfield University’s School of Nursing, and Dr. Michael White, Director of Fairfield University’s MFA in Creative Writing Program. The panelists will discuss health and healing through a literary lens, which is a new focus for the MFA graduate program at Fairfield. The panel will take place at 2 p.m. in the Barone Campus Center Oak Room. 

The panel and reading is free and open to the public and will be presented by the Humanities Institute, the MFA in Creative Writing Program, the School of Nursing, Core Writing, and the Department of English. 

On Thursday, April 23 at 5 p.m., Michael Sweeney, author of Octagon Commonweal, will be discussing his engaging poem of quips and koans at the Fairfield University Bookstore. “Michael Sweeney’s Octagon Commonweal participates in the tradition of Wallace and Ginsberg…written in the grand old style of performance and exhortation,” said Kim Bridgford, author of Undone and Instead of Maps. This event is free and open to the public and will be presented by the College of Arts and Sciences, the Department of English and the Learning for a Lifetime program. 

 

By James Dunn '16

Rachel Basch, pictured upper right

Last modified:  Wed, 08 Apr 2015 10:23:00 EDT

20170717
April is Inspired Writers Month
April is Inspired Writers Month
April is Inspired Writers Month
Wed, 08 Apr 2015 10:23:00 EDT

Your news@fairfield Stories for Friday, May 11, 2018

Fairfield University Student-Athletes Named Volunteers of the Year

Read the Article

Regular Season Champion Stags to Host MAAC Postseason Action: Saturday, April 28 at Rafferty Stadium

Read the Article

Fairfield University Entrepreneurship Program Among Best in State

Read the Article

Fairfield Professor Janet Striuli, PhD, Appointed National Science Foundation Program Director

Read the Article

Fairfield University Glee Club presents “Glee Hits the Big Screen,” May 2

Read the Article

Fairfield’s Special Education Department Recognized for Commitment to Young Adults with Autism Spectrum Disorder

Read the Article

Don't Miss the Gesù Exhibition's Final Weeks — Closing May 19

Read the Article

Search Results


close