Egan Faculty Newsbreakers

Egan Faculty Newsbreakers

Through research, innovation, and expertise, the Egan School faculty are making their mark in the healthcare field through publications, fellowships, grants, and awards.

The following faculty and staff have all passed the Certified Healthcare Simulation Educator (CHSE) examination: Assistant Professor Kathryn Phillips, PhD, ANP-BC, Assistant Professors of the Practice Rose Iannino-Renz, DNP, APRN, FNP-BC and Kathleen Lovanio, DNP, APRN, F/ANP-BC, and Simulation Instructor Elizabeth Denby-Callahan, MSN, RN. These faculty and staff join Simulation Director Susan Reynolds, BSN, RN, MAHSM, CNML, Assistant Professor of the Practice Karen Burrows DNP, MAHSM, RN, C-EFM, and our faculty colleagues from the Veterans Administration Medical Center, Laura Conklin, MSN, RN and Mary Murphy, PhD, FNP-BC who passed the exam in 2018.

Assistant Professor Susan Bartos, PhD, MSN, RN, CCRN, was selected from a nationwide pool to serve as on a Clinical Advisory Workgroup for the American Association of Critical Care Nurses.

Associate Professor Cynthia Bautista, PhD, RN, APRN, CNRN, FNCS, and Assistant Professor Susan Bartos, PhD, MSN, RN, CCRN, won the first-place poster prize at the New York League for Nursing Conference in October for their poster, Critical Care Course for Undergraduate Nursing Students.

Associate Professor Cynthia Bautista, PhD, RN, APRN, CNRN, FNCS, was selected for induction into the Fellowship of Clinical Nurse Specialists (FCNS). The FCNS is awarded based on candidate’s highly skilled clinical nurse specialist activities. They are recognized for their outstanding contribution to the nursing profession and the clinical nurse specialist role in leadership and scholarship. Dr. Bautista was also appointed Consulting Editor for Critical Care Clinics of North America, was a 2018 recipient of the Presidential Citation from the Neurocritical Care Society and has been asked to serve on the Yale New Haven Hospital Psychiatric Behavioral Health Medical Concerns Committee that will be preparing for their NEW state of the art Psychiatric Hospital over the next 5 years.

Associate Dean Audrey Beauvais’, DNP, MBA, RN, book entitled: Leadership and Management Competencies in Nursing Practice: Competencies, Skills, Decision Making, has been published by Springer Publishing Company.

Associate Professor of Nursing Sally Gerard, DNP, RN, CDE, CNL, and Visiting Assistant Professor of Public Health Deborah List, PhD, received a grant from the Centers for Disease Control and American Association of Colleges of Nursing to support an academic and community based, year-long, leaning hub.

The National Hartford Center of Gerontological Nursing Excellence acknowledged Associate Professor of Nursing Alison Kris, PhD, MSN, RN, as a Distinguished Educator in Gerontological Nursing Award.

Assistant Professor Jenna LoGiudice, PhD, CNM, RN, will be inducted into the 2019 class of the American College of Nurse Midwives (ACNM) Fellows this spring in Washington DC. Fellowship in the American College of Nurse-Midwives (FACNM) is an honor bestowed upon those midwives whose demonstrated leadership within ACNM, clinical excellence, outstanding scholarship, and professional achievement have merited special recognition both within and outside of the midwifery profession.

Diana Mager, DNP, RN-BC, was appointed to the Health Information Technology Advisory Council’s Polypharmacy and Medication Reconciliation Work Group through the CT Office of Health Strategy.

Nancy Moriber, PhD, CRNA, APRN, received a HRSA NAT grant for over $51,000 for Anesthesia student scholarships.

Associate Professor Diana Mager, DNP, RN-BC, and Professor Eileen O’Shea, DNP, APRN, PCNS-BC, CHPPN, were invited to be Guest Editors for a special issue in Applied Nursing Research (2020) entitled: Palliative Care: Addressing Serious Illness Across the Lifespan. 

Associate Professor Jessica Planas, PhD, RN, MPH, CHES, director of our new Public Health Department, was accepted into the 2019 National League for Nursing (NLN) LEAD program. LEAD is part of the NLN Leadership Institute in the Center for Transformational Leadership, which focuses on leadership development for nurses in education and practice who have experienced a rapid transition to an administrative position or aspire to lead. This year-long program provides an opportunity for faculty to be engaged with peers and experts to examine issues related to leadership concepts and organizational systems.

Assistant Professor Linda Roney, EdD, RN-BC, CPEN, CNE, has been selected to participate in the Pediatric Panel for the National Trauma Research Action Plan (NTRAP) project, which aims to identify the primary research gaps exist within specific disciplines related to trauma care.

Associate Dean Joyce Shea, DNSc, APRN, PMHCNS-BC, has been appointed by the American Psychiatric Nurses Association as Co-Chair of the Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing Scope and Standards Revision Task Force. The Scope and Standards documents, published by the American Nurses Association, guide the development of state level nurse practice acts and the rules and regulations governing nursing practice. The third edition of the Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice is expected to be published in 2020.

Out of 26 posters submitted from all delivery networks to the 11th Annual YNHHS Janet Parkosewich Nursing Research and EBP conference held on Wednesday, March 27, 2019 at the Yale School Of Nursing, Visiting Instructor Gina Trovato, RN, MSN won first place for Using the ‘P’ Word: Improving Nurse Self-Efficacy for Palliative Care Provision through Simulation and Third Place for Self-Care Habits of Night Shift Nurses.


Tags:  Egan School


Recent News

Fairfield Wins MAAC Commissioner's Cup

Read the Article

Trustee Honors Fr. Blaszczak With Naming of $500,000 Fund to Support Fairfield Bellarmine Students

Read the Article

Coach Carly Thibault-DuDonis to Headline Hall Neighborhood House Celebrity Breakfast, June 27

Read the Article

CAS Professor and Student Present at Sex Differences Conference in Norway

Read the Article

Fairfield Dolan Succeeds at Business Analytics Competition

Read the Article

Premiere Lacrosse League Returns to Campus, July 19-20

Read the Article

Search Results