40 Fairfield Students Inducted Into National Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society

40 Fairfield Students Inducted Into National Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society

cohort of 2019 phi beta kappa inductees

The Zeta of Connecticut chapter of Phi Beta Kappa at Fairfield University recently inducted 40 juniors and seniors into the nation’s oldest and most prestigious academic honor society.

The Zeta of Connecticut chapter of Phi Beta Kappa at Fairfield University inducted 40 students into the nation’s oldest and most prestigious academic honor society on Sunday, April 7. The induction ceremony, celebrating the academic achievement and excellence of Fairfield’s scholars, was attended by more than 150 students, faculty members, and guests.

Presiding over the ceremony were executive officers of Phi Beta Kappa, Zeta of Connecticut chapter: Margaret McClure, PhD (president), Paul Lakeland, PhD (vice president), John Miecznikowski, PhD (secretary/treasurer), William Abbott, PhD (historian), and David McFadden, PhD (past president). Fairfield University President Mark R. Nemec, PhD, delivered the keynote address at the ceremony.

Each spring, Phi Beta Kappa inducts new members from among the most academically accomplished seniors and a highly select group of juniors. Election to the Zeta of Connecticut chapter is based on academic standing (top 10 percent of the class), evidence of broad intellectual curiosity, independent work and thought, outstanding work in the liberal arts and sciences, and good character. Membership is restricted to students who complete most of their coursework in the liberal studies curriculum; typically, students pursuing BA or BS degrees in the College of Arts and Sciences. 

Phi Beta Kappa, whose letters stand for the Greek phrase, “Love of wisdom, the guide of life,” was founded in 1776 at The College of William and Mary. Only 10% of colleges and universities in the United States have been awarded a Phi Beta Kappa chapter. Its chapter established in 1994, Fairfield University is one of only six colleges and universities in the state of Connecticut – and one of only 13 Jesuit colleges and universities nationwide – to have a Phi Beta Kappa chapter.  

2019 Phi Beta Kappa Inductees:

Seniors: Emilse Almanza, Anne Balunas, Haley Blasi, Samantha Brown, Shannon Carney, Elizabeth Conklin, James Cotumaccio, Kathleen Curry, Christina D’Agata, Sabina Dirienzo, Christine Ducey, Irene Havlusch, Sean Hickey, Anna Kamradt, Lauren Kearney, Shannon Kelley, Kaitlyn Larkin, Cara Lee, Alec Lurie, Olivia McEvoy, Kaley McMullen, Mary Moynihan, Caitlin Mulhall, Bridgit Murray, Sabrina Musto, Jonathan Myers, Julia Nojeim, Maureen Perry, Alicia Phaneuf, Katherine Reilly, Jesse Sachs, Emma Smith, Jill Stifano, Mallory Thornton, Alyssa Vigorito, and Sydney Williams.

Juniors: Emma Antoine-Portinari, Shannon Christ, Raquel Reilly, and Daniel Swanson.

Tags:  Top Stories


Recent News

Fairfield University Celebrates 74th Commencement Ceremonies

Read the Article

Top-Seeded Stags Play for MAAC Championship This Week

Read the Article

Fairfield's Alpha Sigma Nu Chapter Announces Teacher of the Year Awards

Read the Article

U.S. Commencement for International Graduates of Fairfield Dolan Shanghai MBA Program

Read the Article

Visiting Bridgeport Schoolchildren Engage in Hands-On Physics Workshops

Read the Article

Summer Camps at Quick Center for the Arts Begin Week of July 8

Read the Article

Search Results