Fairfield U. and Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation Recognize Local Students for STEM Excellence

Fairfield U. and Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation Recognize Local Students for STEM Excellence

Media Contact: Susan Cipollaro, scipollaro@fairfield.edu , 203-254-4000 ext. 2726

FAIRFIELD, Conn. (June 10, 2016) —Staying competitive and innovative in a global society means developing the engineering talent of the future.  On Tuesday, June 6, 2016, Fairfield University held its 20 th annual Excellence in Mathematics and Science Awards . Co-sponsored by Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation, the event recognized 38 juniors for exceptional aptitude in science and mathematics from public, private and parochial high schools in Fairfield and New Haven Counties.

Dean of the School of Engineering, Bruce Berdanier, PhD, and Susan Hitchcock, director of Community Relations at Sikorsky Aircraft Corp., presented the students with medals and certificates at a lunchtime ceremony held in the Dolan School of Business at Fairfield University, where the young scholars mingled with faculty from the School of Engineering, the admissions staff and guests from Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation.

Lynn Babington, PhD, provost and senior vice president for academic affairs, said in her remarks: “The fastest growing job opportunities, particularly in this region and around the country are in engineering and the basic sciences as well as mathematics. You’ll have so many opportunities available to you and that is wonderful.”

Dr. Babington also invited students to connect with faculty sitting alongside them.

“Fairfield’s faculty is what the University prides itself on and is how the school differentiates itself among peer institutions. Not only are they excellent teachers in the classroom and researchers in their various scholarships, but they are strongly committed to mentoring, advising and helping students.”

Participating High Schools and award recipients are as follows:

Jonathan Alter                                            Staples HS

Dominic Calkosz                                         Greenwich HS

Danielle Canfield                                        Bethel HS

Jillian Cass                                                Lauralton Hall

Christopher Cavanaugh                              Masuk HS

Sohan Choudhury                                      Fairfield Warde HS

Jade Cohen                                               Convent of the Sacred Heart

Parker Connelly                                         Easton Country Day School

Monique Dubois                                         Newtown HS

John Feher                                                Stamford HS

Brandon Figueroa                                     Ansonia HS

Jacob Fried                                               Trumbull HS

Theodore Hague                                        Amity Regional Sr. HS

Megan Jankovsky                                     Notre Dame HS

Ethan Jorgensen                                        Joseph A. Foran HS

Gohar Khan                                               Seymour HS

Roula Kouvatas                                          Stratford HS

David Kristof                                              Darien HS

Peter Lebedev                                            Westhill HS

Ngoc “Kate” Luu                                        Bridgeport International Academy

Robert Marcus                                           Greens Farms Academy

Janaea McLean                                          The Bridge Academy

Mariam Mohsin                                          Academy of Information Technology & Engr

Jonathan Moura                                         Kolbe Cathedral HS

William Nash                                             King Low Heywood

Gabrielle Olshan-Cantin                             Hopkins School

Joshua William Paight                             Platt Tech HS

Valerie Plantaud                                        Bassick HS

Renee Pontbriant                                       Shelton HS

Julia Reynolds                                           Fairfield Ludlowe HS

Jillian Saunders                                         Joel Barlow HS

Rachel Scott                                              Bunnell HS

Grace Scully                                              St. Joseph HS

Ryan Sweeney                                           Trinity Catholic HS

Ryan Toner                                               Wooster HS

Ziwen (Harry) Wang                                  Immaculate HS

Kevin Zentner                                           Fairfield College Preparatory School

#Vol. 48     No. 134

Fairfield University is a Jesuit University, rooted in one of the world’s oldest intellectual and spiritual traditions. More than 5,000 undergraduate and graduate students from 36 states, 47 foreign countries, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico are enrolled in the University’s five schools.  In the spirit of rigorous and sympathetic inquiry into all dimensions of human experience, Fairfield welcomes students from diverse backgrounds to share ideas and engage in open conversations. The University is located in the heart of a region where the future takes shape, on a stunning campus on the Connecticut coast just an hour from New York City.

Posted On: 07-19-2016 03:07 PM

Volume: 48 Number: 134