Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center featuring members of Chamber Music Society Two

Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center featuring members of Chamber Music Society Two

Image: J Pohjohen 8 p.m., Saturday, May 12, 2012
Regina A. Quick Center for the Arts
Tickets: $35

The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, considered one of the world's foremost ensembles and a leading repertory company for chamber music, returns to the stage of Fairfield University's Regina A. Quick Center for the Arts for a concert at 8 p.m. on Saturday, May 12, 2012, featuring members of its Chamber Music Society Two program. Performing are Juho Pohjonen, piano; Bella Hristova , violin; Mark Holloway , viola; and Andreas Brantelid, cello. The program features Alessandro Rolla's Duetto Concertante in E-flat major for Violin and Viola, Op. 15, No. 1 (published 1826), Robert Schumann's "Trio No. 3" in G minor for Piano, Violin, and Cello, Op. 110 (1851), and Schumann's "Quartet" in E-flat major for Piano, Violin, Viola, and Cello, Op. 47 (1842). A pre-concert "Art to the Heart" discussion with Robert Sherman, writer, teacher, and radio host for WQXR and WFUV, takes place at 7 p.m. Admission is $35.

The performing artists of The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center (CMS), are a multi-generational selection of expert chamber musicians constituting an evolving repertory company capable of presenting chamber music of virtually every instrumentation, style, and historical period. CMS currently consists of a company of some thirty-five artists with guest artists performing a wide range of concerts and education events. Every three years, the Society's CMS Two program opens its doors to welcome an international array of tomorrow's most important chamber music ensembles.

Image: B Hristova Violinist Bella Hristova is first-prize winner of the 2008-09 Young Concert Artists International Auditions. She made her New York, Washington, and Boston recital debuts in the Young Concert Artists Series and her concerto debut at Carnegie Hall with the New York String Orchestra. Born in Bulgaria, at age 12 she participated in master classes conducted by Ruggiero Ricci at the Salzburg Mozarteum. Since 1999, she has lived in the United States, working with CMS Artists Ida Kavafian and Steven Tenenbom and receiving her artist diploma under Jaime Laredo at Indiana University.

One of the brightest instrumental talents to emerge from Finland today, Juho Pohjonen has attracted great attention as one of the Nordic country's most intriguing and talented pianists. Widely praised for his interpretations of music from Bach to Esa-Pekka Salonen, Mr. Pohjonen's 2004 New York debut recital at Carnegie's Weill Recital Hall was selected as one of the most memorable concert events heard in New York that year by Anthony Tommasini, senior music critic of The New York Times . He studied at the Sibelius Academy, where he received his master's degree in 2008.

Violist Mark Holloway is a chamber musician increasingly sought after in the United States and abroad. A member of the Jupiter Symphony Chamber Players, he also frequently appears as a guest with the New York Philharmonic and Orpheus. Mr. Holloway has been principal violist at Tanglewood and of the New York String Orchestra, and has played as guest principal of the American Symphony, the Chamber Orchestra of Philadelphia, and the St. Paul Chamber Orchestra. Mr. Holloway was a student of Michael Tree at The Curtis Institute of Music and received his Bachelor of Music from Boston University.

One of Scandinavia's leading cellists, Andreas Brantelid is quickly establishing an international reputation. He made his solo debut with orchestra at age 14 with the Royal Danish Orchestra and has since appeared with all the major Scandinavian orchestras. This season he makes debuts with the Munich Chamber Orchestra in Germany and Spain, the Brussels Philharmonic at the Amsterdam Concertgebouw, and the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra. He currently studies with Frans Helmersson at the Kronberg Academy. Mr. Brantelid plays a 1665 Andreas Guarnerius "Terese" cello.

The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, with cellist David Finckel and pianist Wu Han as artistic directors, is one of eleven constituents of New York City's Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts, the largest performing arts complex in the world. Performing repertoire from over three centuries, and numerous premieres by living composers, CMS offers programs curated to provide listeners a comprehensive perspective on the art of chamber music.

Tickets are available through the Quick Center Box Office: (203) 254-4010, or toll-free 1-877-ARTS-396 (1-877-278-7396). Tickets can also be purchased online at .

The Regina A. Quick Center for the Arts is located on the campus of Fairfield University at 1073 North Benson Road in Fairfield, Connecticut. Entrance to the Quick Center is through the Barlow Road gate at 200 Barlow Road. Free, secure parking is available. Access for people with disabilities is available throughout the Quick Center for audience members and performers. Hearing amplification devices are available upon request at the Box Office. Fairfield University is located off exit 22 of Interstate-95. For further information and directions, call (203) 254-4010 or 1-877-278-7396, or visit .

Posted On: 05-03-2012 11:05 AM

Volume: 44 Number: 291