Nolan to receive MBWA Distinguished Service Award

Nolan to receive MBWA Distinguished Service Award

Stags women's basketball coach became 28th coach to win 500 career wins

Fairfield University head women's basketball coach Dianne Nolan has been announced as the winner of the Metropolitan Basketball Writers Association (MBWA) Distinguished Service Award. She will be presented the award at the 73rd annual NIT/MBWA Collegiate Awards Presentations at the Giants Stadium Club in East Rutherford, N.J.

A 1973 graduate of Glassboro State with Master's degrees from West Virginia and Fairfield, Nolan this season became the 28th college coach to surpass 500 victories. She has compiled a 502-401 record in 32 seasons of coaching, the last 27 at Fairfield (441-344). Her career started at St. Francis, N.Y. (1974-79, 61-57).

Nolan has guided Fairfield to 19 winning seasons, four NCAA women's tournament appearances and one WNIT berth. Her Stags have won three MAAC regular season titles and three MAAC tournament championships.

Her coaching travels include stints as an assistant at the 1990 U.S. Olympic Festival and the 1993 World University Games. She has also served as a clinician in the NCAA Youth Education Through Sports In-School program. An active community volunteer, Nolan has received numerous local and state awards in Connecticut from various charitable, civic and athletic groups.

Nolan will receive the award with Fairfield men's basketball alumnus Nick Macarchuk. The duo joins a long list of basketball greats from the metropolitan area who have won the award. Previous recipients of the MBWA Distinguished Service Award: Ray Amalbert, Cal Ramsey, 2005; Bill Stein, 2004; Edgar Cartotto, Mickey Crowley, Brad Tracy, 2003; Richie Regan, Jim Lennon, 2002; Carol Blazejowski, Burt Beagle, 2001; Lou Rossini, John "Doc" Johnson, J.B. Buono, 2000; Rich Ensor, Bill Steinman, 1999; Mike Tranghese, 1998; Bernie Beglane, Bob Mulcahy, 1997; Pete Carril, Paul Munick, Jack Powers, 1996; Bob Gesslein, Jack Kaiser, Paul Lizzo, Dan Quilty, 1995; Ralph Arietta, Butch van Breda Kolff, 1994

Posted On: 04-19-2006 10:04 AM

Volume: $vol Number: $num