Leadership Recognition

On This Page

11th Annual Leadership Recognition Ceremony

The Ceremony fosters a sense of community amongst our student leaders by honoring and recognizing those students who have gone above and beyond in service to their peers and to the Fairfield University campus community, and who have exemplified the Jesuit values that we hold dear. Furthermore, the Ceremony recognizes student leaders primarily in elected and selected leadership roles on campus, along with developing student leaders.

Nominate groups, teams or individual student leaders for our Jesuit Awards by Friday, March 15. Nominate students by filling out our online form.

The 2018 celebration will be held on Tuesday, April 23, 2019 at 8 p.m. in the Quick Center.

2018 Student Leadership Award Winners

Golden Phone Award
Marissa Fitzgerald

Rising Stag Award
Winner 1: Luckario Alcide
Winner 2: John Butz
Winner 3: Gabriela Dougherty
Winner 4: Alexis Dumais

Fr. Pedro Arruppe Award
Winner 1: Liam Cahill
Winner 2: Stephen Dierks
Winner 3: Kaitlyn Godberson

Global Citizenship Award
Winner 1: Sophia Bolanos
Winner 2: Mariah Kasparek

Peer Conduct Board Member of the Year
Erin Monahan

SAAC Magis Award
Kelly Bommer

Advisor of the Year
Marcia Arambulo Rodriguez

New Club of the Year

Club of the Year
Project Yes You Can

FUSA Rookie of the Year
Cate Halley

FUSA Member of the Year
Ali Haidar

FUSA Program of the Year
Santa's Workshop

FUSA Initiative of the Year
Committee on Public Safety and Wellness

Megan Doyle Programmer of the Year
Olivia McEvoy

FUSA Lifetime Service Award
Gerry Brogan

Residential Staff of the Year
Jogues Hall Staff

Senior Resident Assistant of the Year
Sarah Dippelhofer

Resident Assistant of the Year
Nadra Al-Hamwy

Residence Hall Association of the Year
Campion Hall

Melissa C. Weiss Award for Leadership Excellence
Julia Pisani

BRAG Student Leader of the Year
Alexa Fratarcangeli

Commuter Student Leader of the Year
Valerie Bien-Aime

CARE Team Member of the Year
**Award not given. Carrie Robinson, co-founder, appreciated instead

Cura Personalis Peer Mentor of the Year
Ana Scanlon

Cura Personalis Faculty/Staff Mentor of the Year
Dr. Rachelle Brunn-Bevel

Fairfield United Organization of the Year
Black Student Union

Fairfield United Program of the Year
Remixx Showcase

Civic Leadership Award
Zachary Quinones

Fairfield @ Night Event Manager of the Year
Annie Kamradt

Fairfield @ Night Event Staff Member of the Year
Cara Lee

New Student Leader of the Year
Janae Staltaro

Community Associate of the Year
Paul Hovey

Student Engagement Service Award
Giuseppe Chiara

Magis Award
Candice Peterkin

Cura Personalis Award
Zachary Quinones

People for Others Award
Nadra Al-Hamwy & Sean Tomlinson

Contemplatives in Action Award
Julia Pisani

Unity of Heart and Mind Award
Nicole Heller

Leadership Recognition Nomination

Each year at the Student Leadership Recognition Ceremony, the University recognizes individual students, groups, and/or Faculty/Staff mentors who embody the Jesuit values via the Jesuit Leadership Awards  - Magis, Cura Personalis, People for Others, Contemplatives in Action, and Unity of Heart & Mind. To nominate any student, group, or Faculty/Staff mentor for a Jesuit Leadership Award (see below for descriptions), please fill out the Leadership Recognition Nomination Form by Friday, March 15, 2019 by 11:59 pm. 

Jesuit Student Leadership Awards


This distinction is awarded to an individual or group of students whom have made a positive impact on the campus community over the last year. This student or group takes pride in the responsibility of citizenship and seeks to affect positive change.

Cura Personalis

This distinction is awarded to the individual or group of students whom have exhibited enormous growth in their personal and/or professional development over the last year. This student or group strives to be their best authentic self and is actively engaged in self-development.

People for Others

This distinction is awarded to an individual or group of students who have demonstrated leadership through their service and devotion to others over the last year. With humility, empathy and a sense of justice, this student or group strives to better the lives of others.

Contemplatives in Action

This distinction is awarded to the individual or group of students who have demonstrated leadership through ingenuity and creativity over the last year. Not content with the status quo, this student or group perseveres for innovation that impacts themselves and the community. This student or group is a true visionary.

Unity of Heart & Mind

This distinction is awarded to a mentor who has committed themselves to the holistic development (mind, body, & spirit) of student leaders. This person has established strong mentorship relationships with student leaders, made a significant impact on their development, and has empowered them to live authentic lives as Jesuit-educated student leaders.



Who sponsors the Leadership Recognition Ceremony?

The Student Leadership Recognition Ceremony is sponsored by the Collaborative Leadership Committee (CLC) and the various departments/programs that work with student leaders across campus, including the Academic & Career Development Center, the Office of Student Engagement, the Residence Life Office, the Office of Student Diversity & Multicultural Affairs, Campus Ministry, the Center for Faith & Public Life, the Department of Recreation, the Dean of Student’s Office, and University Advancement. The goal of the CLC is to assist in the development of a culture of empowered and celebrated student leaders on campus.

The CLC is also responsible for planning the Fall Student Leadership Conference that is scheduled for Friday, September 1, 2017. For more information about the Student Leadership Conference, click here.

I am nominated for an award, can I bring parents/guardians/family/friends to the ceremony?

Absolutely! Feel free to invite friends and family to the ceremony if you are nominated for an award.

I am nominated for an award, what time do I have to be there?

Doors open at 7:30 p.m. We ask that you be there by 7:50 p.m. if you are a nominee. Don’t forget to stop by the check-in table to let us know that you are in attendance, and pick up your Stag Leader Pin!

When the does the ceremony begin?

The Ceremony will begin at 8 p.m. sharp!

How long is the ceremony?

We estimate the ceremony will end at approximately 9:30 p.m.

What is the dress code for the ceremony?

We ask that you wear something “snappy casual.” No sweatpants or jeans please!

If I win, do I need to prepare a speech or anything?

In order to ensure we get through the program as quickly as possible, we have decided to not allow speeches. Feel free to thank all of your friends and family afterwards though in the Lobby where we will have desserts and light refreshments!

If I have any additional questions about the ceremony, who can I contact?

You can contact Jeremy Kaler at jkaler@fairfield.edu or Nicole Heller at Nicole.heller@fairfield.edu if you have any questions about the ceremony.

Search Results