On This Page


In its more than 55-year history, Fairfield Rugby has built a powerful legacy of excellence on and off the field. Our players, coaches, administrators, and alumni are a formidable team in support of the program – and each other.

Those who wear the Fairfield Rugby colors form a special bond with one another that generally lasts a lifetime. Ruggers push each other to excel in training, persevere in the most intense competitions, celebrate victories, and remain united in adversity – even long after they have graduated.

Director of Rugby

Tom "Oakie" O'Connor ’75, one of the most respected and beloved ruggers in FURFC history, began his rugby career as a freshman in 1971 and played on some of the best teams in FURFC history. He played flanker for the Essex RFC and later coached the Connecticut Yankees from 1979-1982. He was the FURFC head coach from 2004-2007, during which time his teams won 30 games.

The Director of Rugby is responsible for the growth, development, and well-being of the Fairfield University Rugby Club Program. He works collaboratively with Fairfield's rugby coaches, student team leaders and the wider rugby community to ensure that the University earns a reputation as a preeminent rugby school where the sport plays a key part in nurturing the Jesuit principles of mind, body, and spirit. "Oakie" can be reached at

Men's Program

The Fairfield University Men's Rugby Club was founded as a club sport in 1963. The club is a member of the D1A Liberty Conference and competes against the University of Connecticut, Northeastern, the University of Massachusetts, Tufts, Fordham, the University of Rhode Island, and Boston College. Learn more about the Liberty Rugby Conference League

2020-2021 Club Officers
Title Name Year Email
President John Minogue 2022
Vice President John Thompson 2023
Treasurer Chris Oddo 2021
Match Secretary Zach Ahlins 2021
Backfield Captain Jack McCarthy 2021
Scrum Captain Mike Schiavello 2021

Women's Program

The Women's Rugby Club at Fairfield University was founded as a sport club in 1994. The current nationally ranked DII Tri-State Rugby Conference women compete against teams including Hofstra, Vassar, Marist, Rutgers, Stony Brook and Sacred Heart. Learn more about the Tri-State Rugby Conference.

2020-2021 Club Officers
Title Name Year Email
President Alex Maltbie 2021
Vice President Olivia Calnon 2021
Forward Captain Kathleen Schofield 2021

Backs Captain Caroline Smith 2021
Match Secretary Cait Wood 2022
New Player Chair Shauna Harney 2022

Search Results