Faculty & Awards

On This Page


At Fairfield, we pride ourselves on the the excellence of our program and faculty. Faculty members are experts in the field, and work diligently to provide a simulation-focused approach to their teaching. Faculty advisors work closely with students to provide academic advice, individualized attention, and career planning. Small classes are a key component to the program, simulating clinical practice to give students a real-world sense of life in the industry.

Robert E. Wall Award

The Robert E. Wall Faculty Award Program, initiated during Spring 1994, is to foster faculty scholarly research or artistic creativity at Fairfield and, second, to celebrate the outcome of these efforts within the University community. All tenured faculty are invited to submit a research proposal for consideration by the Senior Vice President and Associate Vice Presidents of Academic Affairs, the Deans of the Schools and College and the Chair of the faculty research Committee. The awardee is granted a semester long sabbatical to pursue the research project.




View the 2015 ceremony:


Faculty who have received this award include:

Benjamin Fine, Mathematics
Nicholas Rinaldi, English
Gregory Koutmos, Finance
Nancy Haegel, Physics
Mathew Coleman, Mathematics
Dianne Brousseau, Biology
John Thiel, Religious Studies
Edward Deak, Economics
Katherine Schwab, Art History
Ronald Davidson, Religious Studies

Stephen Sawin, Mathematics
Anna Martin, Finance
Nickolas Laopodis, Finance
Joy Gordon, Philosophy
Dennis Keenan, Philosophy
Kim Bridgford, English
Donald Gibson, Management
Jo Yarrington, Studio Art
Brian Walker, Biology
Giovanni Ruffini, History

Rank And Tenure

Learn more about the outstanding College of Arts and Sciences’ faculty members that have received tenure or were recently promoted.

Search Results