The Young Artists Series presents award-winning pianist Allen Yueh

The Young Artists Series presents award-winning pianist Allen Yueh

3 p.m., Sunday, January 12, 2014
Regina A. Quick Center for the Arts

Free Admission

Image: A Yueh Who: Pianist, Allen Yueh. Born in 1991, Allen Yueh has won numerous competitions and performed concerts around the world. In June of 2008, Mr. Yueh won First Prize in The Fourth New York International Piano Competition (NYIPC) under the Stecher and Horowitz Foundation. He is featured in On a Personal Note , a documentary film about the competition. In January 2009, Allen Yueh participated in YoungARTS Week 2009, created by the National Foundation for Advancement in the Arts (NFAA). Mr. Yueh won the Gold Award in this national event and was subsequently distinguished as one of 20 Presidential Scholar of the Arts in the nation. In August 2004 at the age of twelve, Mr. Yueh gave his formal solo recital debut by opening the summer concert season at the Shandelee Music Festival (New York). Mr. Yueh returned in 2006, 2012, and most recently in 2013 as soloist. Since 1996, Allen Yueh has been under the guidance of Ms. Yelena Ivanov, former professor at the Gnesinsky Academy of Music in Moscow, Russia. Allen Yueh graduated from Harvard University in 2013 and is pursuing his Masters in Music at NYU Steinhardt under Alexander Kobrin.

What: The Young Artists Series, presented by Fairfield University, in association with The Stecher and Horowitz Foundation, is a series of free classical piano concerts taking place at the Quick Center featuring gifted young musicians. The Stecher and Horowitz Foundation, through its flagship program, The New York International Piano Competition, is committed to furthering the education, recognition and fostering of a new generation of talented young musicians, directly serving pianists ages 16-21. The Foundation helps aspirants achieve their personal and professional goals through mentoring, career guidance, artistic development, and performance opportunities throughout the year.

When: 3 p.m. Sunday, January 12, 2014

Program: Robert Schumann (1810-1856), Novellette in F Major, Op. 21, No. 1; Arabesque, Op. 18; Johannes Brahms, (1833-1897), Seven Fantasies, Op. 116 ; Franz Schubert (1797-1828), Sonata in C Minor, D. 958 .

Where: Fairfield University's Regina A. Quick Center for the Arts

Admission: Free. No tickets required.The Quick Center Box Office: (203) 254-4010, or toll-free 1-877-ARTS-396 (1-877-278-7396).

Location: The Regina A. Quick Center for the Arts is located on the campus of Fairfield University at 1073 North Benson Road in Fairfield, Connecticut. Entrance to the Quick Center is through the Barlow Road gate at 200 Barlow Road. Free, secure parking is available. Access for people with disabilities is available throughout the Quick Center for audience members and performers. Hearing amplification devices are available upon request at the Box Office. Fairfield University is located off exit 22 of Interstate-95. For further information and directions, call (203) 254-4010 or 1-877-278-7396, or visit .

Posted On: 01-09-2014 11:01 AM

Volume: 46 Number: 149