Fairfield University 2009 Commencement fact sheet

Fairfield University 2009 Commencement fact sheet

Fairfield University will award 1,298 degrees to the Class of 2009, including 938 bachelor's degrees, 346 master's degrees, 12 certificates of advanced study and 2 associate's degrees.

This is Fairfield's 59th commencement. It is the first time in the University's history that there will be two separate ceremonies - one for undergraduates and one for graduate students. The first commencement was held in 1951 with 214 bachelor's degrees and 9 master's degrees.

Fairfield University is one of 28 Jesuit colleges and universities in the United States. It is located on a park-like 200-acre campus. The University has 32 buildings plus townhouses for juniors and seniors.

Fairfield University commencements are held on the terrace of Bellarmine Hall, which was built in 1921 by Walter Lashar as the main house of an estate. It was originally known as Hearthstone Hall and was renamed in honor of St. Robert Bellarmine, a 16th century theologian, after the Society of Jesus purchased the building in 1942. It remained the residence of the Jesuits until 1981 when they moved to Ignatius House and Bellarmine Hall became the main administration building for Fairfield University.

Three commencements have been forced indoors because of poor weather. The last time commencement was held inside was 1982.

Posted On: 05-18-2009 10:05 AM

Volume: 41 Number: 340