Students Recognized for Achievement, Service and Leadership


Students Recognized for Achievement, Service and Leadership

From international service and advocacy to mentoring and program development, undergraduate and graduate students were recognized for leadership and outstanding achievements from across all schools. Here are some highlights:

Student Achievement Awards

On April 19, six Fairfield University undergraduate seniors were recognized for their leadership and outstanding achievements at the Student Achievement Awards. Lynn Babington, PhD, RN, Interim President congratulated them in her welcoming remarks, and joined the group for a special dinner with their families and friends after the event.

Brendan McNamara ’17 received the prestigious St. Ignatius Loyola Medal for “exemplifying the true spirit of a Jesuit education” through his high academic standards and substantial involvement in community service. Among his many accomplishments, McNamara, a double major in business management and theatre, will graduate Magna Cum Laude and is a Magis Scholar, Eucharistic Minister, Mass Coordinator, an active member of Theatre Fairfield at Fairfield University including directing the production of Doubt, Senior Admissions Fellow and volunteer for Service Immersion trips to Kentucky, California, Louisiana and New Mexico.

The William J. Kramer ’60 Humanitarian Award will be awarded to Alexandra Weiss ’17 for her “commitment to volunteerism and service to an external community activity that best exemplifies the Ignatian tradition of being men and women for and with others.” As a student at Fairfield, was a member of Alpha Mu Gamma, Beta Alpha Psu, Campus Ministry Lector, Founder of Operation Hope, Coordinator at Prospect House, Co-leader of Border Links, Campus Ministry Retreat Team Leader, Kairos Retreat Leader and Team Captain of Relay for Life.

Four seniors received Student Achievement Awards for their commitment and enhancement of University programs: Napali Bridgelall ‘17 for her commitment to the Multi-Lingual Writing Center and Office of Student Engagement; Marc Lee ’17 his commitment to the advancement of The Inkwell ; Kasey McNamara ’17 and Kayla Valente ’17 will receive recognition for their commitment and work with the Student Alumni Association and Student Philanthropy.

Graduate Student Service Awards

One graduate student from within each academic school who made an impact during their time at Fairfield University was also recognized at the Graduate Student Service Award Ceremony and Dinner in the Dolan School of Business Dining Room on April 22.

Graduate School of Education and Allied Professions: Alleana Martinez (MA, Marriage and Family Therapy)

Charles F. Dolan School of Business: Christie Camarda (MBA, Finance)

Marion Peckham Egan School of Nursing and Health Studies: Jody Kusheba (MSN, Nursing Leadership)

College of Arts and Sciences: Lauren Palmbach (MFA, Creative Writing)

School of Engineering: Venkateshwarlu Kakumanu (MS, Mechanical Engineering)

Graduate Student Life: Raja Sai Nakka (MS, Software Engineering)

Leadership Recognition Awards

The Regina A. Quick Center for the Arts was packed on Tuesday, April 25 with students at the 9th Annual Leadership Recognition Awards. Shennell Tyndell ‘17 and Josue Jorge ‘17 hosted the event. The ceremony honored and recognized students who have gone above and beyond in service to their peers and to the Fairfield University campus community, and recognized student leaders primarily in elected and selected leadership roles on campus, along with developing student leaders. The award categories included University Advancement, Campus Ministry, Career Planning Center, Student Diversity and Multicultural Affairs, Center for Faith and Public Life, Office of Student Engagement, Residence Life, FUSA and Jesuit Student Leadership.

At this year's ceremony, The Meghan Doyle Programmer of Year Award was presented to Michael Hill ’17 for his passionate dedication & commitment to FUSA programming. This award is presented to a deserving FUSA programmer who goes above and beyond in their responsibilities within FUSA. The Meghan Doyle Programmer of the Year is in honor of 2009 graduate Meghan Doyle who passed away in 2013. While at Fairfield, Meghan was a member of the FUSA programming board as well as the Director of Programming where she worked tirelessly to make every FUSA event the best it could be for the University community.

Pictured (from left to right): Marc Lee, Kasey McNamara, Napali Bridgellal, Kayla Valenti, Brendan McNamara and Alexandra Weiss at the Student Achievement Awards.

2017 Student Award Ceremonies

Last modified: 04-24-17 11:00 AM


Your news@fairfield Stories for Friday, October 11, 2019

RugbyFest, Food Trucks, and Fun — AFW Is Just One Week Away

Read the Article

Stags Announce Athletics Events for Alumni & Family Weekend

Read the Article

Political Experts to Assess Wellness of American Democracy, Oct. 17 at the Quick

Read the Article

Fairfield Biology Department Receives $175K Major Research Instrumentation Grant

Read the Article

Singer-Composer Elana Arian to Headline Daniel Pearl World Music Days Concert, Oct. 22

Read the Article

Fairfield University to Host Graduate Information Session, October 16

Read the Article

Tell Us More: An Advance Care Planning Workshop, Nov. 13

Read the Article

Search Results