Alpha Sigma Nu Announces Teachers of the Year, New Members


Alpha Sigma Nu Announces Teachers of the Year, New Members

Alpha Sigma Nu (ASN), the National Jesuit Honor Society, serves to reward and encourage scholarship, loyalty, and service to the ideals of Jesuit higher education. The Fairfield chapter includes outstanding undergraduate and graduate students who are encouraged to promote service to the University and provide greater understanding of the Jesuit ideals of education within the University community.

ASN held its New Member and Teacher of the Year Reception on Tuesday, April 9 at 4 p.m. in Bellarmine Hall to congratulate the new undergraduate members of Alpha Sigma Nu from the Class 2014, and to honor the Teachers of the Year, Dr. Ashley Soyong Byun, Assistant Professor of Biology, and Dr. Carl Scheraga, Professor of Business Strategy and Technology Management.

Undergraduate Teacher of the Year

‌In February, an email went to all undergraduates asking for their Teacher of the Year nominations. Over 100 nominations were received and from these nominations the committee selected Professor Ashley Byun. Dr. Ashley Byun, an assistant professor of biology, received her Bachelor of Science Degree from York University in Toronto, Canada and her Ph.D. from the University of Victoria in British Columbia. She has been teaching at Fairfield University since September 2007.  Her special area of interest is Evolutionary Biology.

asn teachers Graduate Student Teacher of the Year

The Graduate Student Assembly Leadership Council reviewed 40 nominations received from graduate students and selected Professor Carl Scheraga. Professor Scheraga is chair of the Department of Management in the Dolan School of Business and professor of Business Strategy and Technology Management. Dr. Scheraga received a Bachelor of Science Degree in Mathematics and Engineering from Brown University, an M.A. and a Ph.D. in Economics from the University of Connecticut. Dr. Scheraga has taught at Fairfield University since 1994. His fields of research and teaching include transportation and international logistics, global strategic management, cross-cultural management, and the management of technology and innovation.”

Graduate students will be selected for Alpha Sigma Nu over the summer.

New Undergraduate Student Members

To become a member of ASN, undergraduate students have a scholastic rank in the top 15 percent of their junior class, have demonstrated a proven concern for others through involvement in extracurricular activities and service to the University, and have manifested a true concern and commitment to the values and goals of Jesuit education.

All juniors with a qualifying grade point average are invited to submit essays about their activities. Only four percent of a junior class can join and final decisions on membership are made by present undergraduate members of ASN.

Selection of new members took place during February and the formal induction for new members will be held in October. Congratulations to the following new members of ASN!

Bayan Abunar Juliana Anduckia
Kaitlyn Banaszynski Kilee Bayne
Rachel Beauregard Mary Briggs
Lauren Bruchansky Emma Cannon
Michaela Crossen Ryan Daly
Klevisa Kovaci Jennifer Le
Danielle Levangie Lauren Liseth
Tebben Lopez Eric Lynch
Maria Mazzaro Meaghan McCarthy
Jillian Muhlbauer Lisa Naples
Paul O’Brien Gregory Perraut
Lindsey Petronella Angela Quental
Luke Record Vincent Romano
Amina Seyal Samantha Sherman
Olga Sidiropoulos Laura Stakey
Erin Sullivan Taylor Trenchard

Last modified: 04-17-13 08:48 AM


Your news@fairfield Stories for Friday, July 20, 2018

Fairfield Welcomes Over 1,100 New Stags at Orientation

Read the Article

Megan Theiller '18 Named MAAC Female Student-Athlete of the Year

Read the Article

Republican Gubernatorial Debate at Fairfield University, August 6

Read the Article

Summer Research Heats Up at Fairfield University

Read the Article

Paul F. Lakeland, PhD, Begins Term as President of Catholic Theological Society of America

Read the Article

Fairfield University Art Museum Announces Major Gift from James M. Reed

Read the Article

Fairfield University Appoints One of Nation’s Most Published Communication Researchers as New Department Chair

Read the Article

Search Results