Connecticut high school students honored by Fairfield University’s School of Engineering and Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation

Juniors who attend high schools from Greenwich to New Haven recognized for excelling in math and science, and encouraged to become tomorrow’s engineers, scientists and innovators.

FAIRFIELD, Conn. June 16, 2015– Thirty-two students from public, private and parochial high schools in Fairfield and New Haven Counties were honored by Fairfield University’s School of Engineering and Stratford, Conn.-based Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation at the 19th annual Excellence in Mathematics and Science Awards held on the Fairfield campus Tuesday, June 2.

In recognizing these exemplary scholars – many of tomorrow’s engineers, scientists and start-up founders - the University hopes to in turn inspire them to study and pursue careers related to science, technology, engineering and math (STEM). The event honors young people for excelling in the study of STEM subjects, and comes at a time when fewer young Americans are showing interest in these vital areas.

Bruce Berdanier, Ph.D., dean of the School of Engineering, was joined by Susan Hitchcock, manager of community affairs at Sikorsky Aircraft and a Fairfield University graduate, in urging the young scholars to realize their potential to be the next generation’s leaders in innovation.

The following students were award recipients at the 19th annual Excellence in Mathematics and Science Awards at Fairfield University:

Tara Boyd, of Lauralton Hall; Jake Peter Haney, of Fairfield Ludlowe H.S.; Alyssa Nieves, of Bridge Academy; Cecil Pringle, of Kolbe-Cathedral H.S.; Dhruv Gowd, of Bunnell High School; Sruthi Kalidindi, of Trumbull H.S.; Eric Franco, of Notre Dame H.S.; Prathna Pel, of Bassick H.S.; Jiabei Jin, of Christian Heritage H.S.

Caleigh Kupersmith, Convent, of the Sacred Heart in Greenwich.
Emily Berzolla, of Greenwich High School.

Matthew Cenci, of St. Joseph High School; Christopher DiCairano, of Shelton High School; Veronica Regina, of Masuk High School; Luke Clair, of Fairfield Prep.

Ariel Hilario, of Cooperative Arts & Humanities High School; Justin Dickovick, of Joseph A. Foran High School; Joseph Lanche, of Platt Voc. Tech. School; Helen Liu, of Amity Regional Senior High School; Janerry Ruiz, of Common Ground High School; Amita Sastry, of Jonathan Law High School.

Caelan Ritter, of Newtown High School; Lia Bozzone, of Joel Barlow H.S.; Taylor Dice, of Henry Abbott Voc. Tech.; Colin Lounsbury, of Danbury H.S.; Joseph Natal, of Immaculate High School.

Ryan Abbott, of Hopkins School; Eliott Connors, of Wilton H.S.; Vignesh Namasivayam, of Staples H.S.; and Alice Schaumann, of Academy of Information Technology & Engineering.

Jane Bredahl, of Darien H.S.; Monisha Das, of Bethel H.S.“The next step is up to you to pursue higher education that develops the potential that we and your teachers recognize in all of you,” Dr. Berdanier told students, their proud parents, and Fairfield University faculty.

For more information about Fairfield University, visit

Bookmark and Share

Media Contact: Meg McCaffrey, (203) 254-4000, ext. 2726,

Posted on June 17, 2015

Vol. 47, No. 38

Search Results