Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center offers program of Stravinsky and Copland on April 18

Amphion String Quartet will also perform at the Regina A. Quick Center for the Arts

Amphion String Quartet The Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, joined by the Amphion String Quartet, will perform a program of Igor Stravinsky and Aaron Copland at 8 p.m., Saturday, April 18, at Fairfield University’s Regina A. Quick Center for the Arts.

The artists will offer a free pre-talk at 7:15 p.m. in the Kelley Theatre.

Tickets are $45 and $35. For tickets, visit or call the Box Office at (203) 254-4010 or toll-free at 1-877-ARTS-396 (1-877-278-7396). The performance is sponsored, in part, by Sheaffer.

Considered the nation’s premier chamber music repertory company, the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center (CMSLC) is comprised of an evolving and unparalleled roster of performers. This multi-generational and international selection of expert musicians performs chamber music of every instrumentation, style and historical period.

The Amphion String Quartet joined the roster of CMSLC’s CMS Two Program in 2013, two years after they won the 2011 Concert Artists Guild Victor Elmaleh Competition. The young powerhouse ensemble made its debut at Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall a year ago, with the New York Times praising its “sharply detailed performances.”

The Quick Center performance will feature pianist Anne-Marie McDermott, violinist Kristin Lee and clarinetist David Shifrin, among others. The program features Stravinsky’s “Suite italienne for Cello and Piano,” “Suite from Histoire du soldat for Violin, Clarinet and Piano” and “Concertino for String Quartet,” and Copland’s “Two Pieces for String Quartet,” “Two Pieces for Violin and Piano” and “Sextet for Clarinet, Two Violins, Viola, Cello and Piano.”

Bookmark and Share

Media Contact: Meredith Guinness, (203) 254-4000, ext. 2950,

Posted on March 31, 2015

Vol. 47, No. 226

Search Results