more news

Faculty and Student News

The Graduate School of Education and Allied Professions would like to recognize the following faculty members and students for their achievements, as well as celebrate recent grants and research: 

Dr. Evelyn Bilias Lolis, assistant professor of school psychology and special education, in collaboration with her school psychology graduate student research teams, had four research proposals accepted for presentation at the Northeastern Educational Research Association (NERA) and National Association of School Psychologists (NASP) conferences this past semester. A team of four students co-presented two projects with Dr. Bilias Lolis at NERA, including graduate students Briana Clarke, Kathleen CrokeKiera Russo, and Matt Varrone. Two additional projects were accepted for presentation at NASP in San Antonio, TX, one of which, “Investigating Selection Practice for the use of Evidence-Based Interventions in School Mental Health: Implications for Education Stakeholders,” was co-presented with graduate student Matt Varrone. In addition to Varrone, the team of students who co-authored conference presentations on child gratitude and evidenced-based interventions for children included Emily BeaudoinBriana ClarkKerry GradyKristen MarsilloAubrey NolanTess Piersgostini, and Emily Winter.

Dr. Patricia Calderwood, professor and chair of educational studies and teacher preparation, is the inaugural recipient of the Rev. Jeffrey P. von Arx, S.J. Award for Excellence in Community Engagement in recognition of her long-standing commitment to service learning, inspiring work with Cesar Batalla School in Bridgeport, and change-making work in the area of community-engaged scholarship.

Dr. Ryan Colwell, assistant professor of childhood education and director of the childhood education program, and Dr. Alyson Martin, assistant professor of special education, will collaborate with Cesar Batalla School to improve reading and math scores, and to improve school climate and culture over the next year under a $400K School Improvement Grant.

Emma Kate Freatman received the CCA Counseling Student of the Year Award from Dr. Louisa Foss Kelly, president of the CCA, at the state conference last month.

Dr. Paula Gill Lopez, associate professor of school psychology and chair of the department of psychological and educational consultation, was recognized as the 2017 Alpha Sigma Nu Graduate Teacher of the Year. Alpha Sigma Nu, the National Jesuit Honor Society, encourages scholarship, loyalty, and service to the ideals of Jesuit higher education. Additionally Dr. Gill Lopez recently authored a two-part article on self-care published in the National Association of School Psychologists (NASP) Communiqué. She and her student research team are currently investigating the benefits of practicing self-care and mindfulness for school practitioners.

Alleana Martinez was recognized as the Fairfield University Graduate Student Service Award winner at a ceremony in April.

Dr. Jule McCombes-Tolis, associate professor of the practice and director of the Reading and Language Development (RLD) program, co-developed a Dyslexia Intervention Clinic with Norwalk Public Schools and secured a grant to establish a pilot model for the clinic to take place this summer.

Dr. Bryan Ripley Crandall, assistant professor of educational studies and teacher preparation and director of the Connecticut Writing Project (CWP) – Fairfield, was the recipient of a $20,000 grant for “Refugee Children and Youth: Learning Enrichment and Academic Preparedness,” a proposal he worked on in collaboration with the International Institute of Connecticut, the Connecticut Writing Project at Fairfield University, Bridgeport Public Schools, and Ubuntu Academy. The grant was awarded in May by IMPACT Fairfield, a women’s collective that gives to organizations impacting Fairfield County.Dr. Crandall was also named the winner of the 2016-2017 George E. Lang Jr. Award by the Faculty Welfare Executive Committee and CT State Conference Committee of the AAUP for awareness of and dedication to the importance of AAUP issues such as academic freedom, faculty governance, and faculty rights and responsibilities.

Dr. Stephanie Storms, associate professor in educational studies and teacher preparation,was appointed by the Commissioners of the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights (USCCR) to serve as a special government employee as a member of the CT State Advisory Committee to the USCCR.


Last modified: Fri, 16 Jun 2017 10:52:49 EDT