Ignatian Residential College Academic Program

Course Curriculum

The curriculum consists of two courses taken in successive semesters. Both courses fulfill existing core requirements and in both cases students are able to choose from a range of courses, shaped and delivered with the goals of the College in mind. Participating faculty are free to design a new course or to make major or minor alterations to an existing course that fits the themes, goals, and objectives of the College.

Both courses are chosen from a range of courses offered across all departments and schools. These courses are linked to the goals of the College in many ways. For example, one might explore the intellectual and moral virtues and values relevant to a given discipline. What are the moral aspects of this subject? How does this discipline address individual and communal social issues? Certain courses include a service learning component that gives students exposure to areas of social need in settings in which they can walk with the poor and those who serve them; be an active part of responding to specific needs; reflect on their experience from various analytical, theological, and spiritual perspectives.

 

Faculty

Steven J. Bachelor, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of History
B.A., University of California
M.A., M.Phil., Ph.D., Yale Univeristy
Office: CNS 320
SBachelor@fairfield.edu
(203) 254-4000 ext. 3439

Betsy A. Bowen, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of English
A.B., Colby College
M.A., Middlebury College
Ph.D., Carnegie Mellon University
Office: DMH 102
Bbowen@fairfield.edu
(203) 254-4000 ext. 2798

Cecelia Bucki, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of History
B.A., University of Connecticut
M.A., University of Pittsburgh
Ph.D., University of Pittsburg
Office: CNS 318
CBucki@fairfield.edu
(203) 254-4000 ext. 2307

Kevin J. Cassidy, Ph.D.
Professor of Politics
A.B., Catholic University
M.S., Hunter College
Ph.D., City University of New York
Office: DMH 306
KJCassidy@fairfield.edu
(203) 254-4000 ext. 2862

Joanne H. Choly
Lab Supervisor & Adjunt Professor of Biology
MSC, BS, MA, CAS
Office: BNW 212B
JHCholy@fairfield.edu
(203) 254-4000 ext. 2929

Elizabeth A. Dreyer, Ph.D.
Professor of Religious Studies
B.A., Rosary College
M.A., Xavier University
Ph.D., Marquette University
Office: DMH 319
EDreyer@fairfield.edu
(203) 254-4000 ext. 3127

Roger Duncan
Adjunct Professor of Philosophy
Office: DMH 337
Cantualis@aol.com
(203) 254-4000 ext. 2855

C. Joy Gordon, Ph. D.
Professor of Philosophy
B.A., Brandeis University
J.D., Boston University
M.A., M. Phil., Ph.D., Yale University
Office: DMH 314
JGordon@fairfield.edu
(203) 254-4000 ext. 2852

Francis T. Hannafey, S.J.
Professor of Religious Studies
B.S., Southern Connecticut State University
M.B.A., Ph.D., Loyola University of Chicago
M.Div., S.T.M., Jesuit School of Theology at Berkeley
Office: DMH 320
FHannafey@fairfield.edu
(203) 254-4000 ext. 2717

Janet Krauss
Adjunct Professor of English
B.A., Brandeis University
M.A., Fairfield University
Office: DMH 142
JKrauss@fairfield.edu
(203) 254-4000 ext. 2816

Alison E. Kris, Ph.D., R.N.
Assistant Professor of Nursing
B.A., B.S., University of Pennsylvania
Ph.D., University of California San Francisco
Office: SON 117
AKris@fairfield.edu
(203) 254-4000 ext. 2709

Philip J. Lane , Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Economics
B.A.., Providence College
M.A., Northeastern University
Ph.D., Tufts University
Office: DMH 322
Lane@fairfield.edu
(203) 254-4000 ext. 2279

Mark S. LeClair, Ph.D.
Professor of Economics
B.A., Colgate University
M.A., Northeastern University
Ph.D., Rutgers University
Office: DMH 321
MLeClair@fairfield.edu
(203) 254-4000 ext. 2295

James Mayzik, S.J.
Director of New Media Film, Television & Radio Program
B.A., Georgetown University
M.A., Weston School of Theology
M.F.A., New York University
Office: XVR 2
JMayzik@fairfield.edu
(203) 254-4000 ext. 2697

David W. McFadden, Ph.D.
Professor of History
B.A. University of Denver
M.A., Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Office: CNS 324
DMcfadden@fairfield.edu
(203) 254-4000 ext. 2871

Laura Nash, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Music: Classical
B.A., Wellesley College
Ph.D., Yale University
Office: DMH 219
LNash@fairfield.edu
(203) 254-4000 ext. 2638

Jacqueline Rinaldi
Adjunct Professor of English
Office: DMH 130
JRinaldi@fairfield.edu
(203) 254-4000 ext. 2810

Glenn Sauer, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Biology
B.S., Pennsylvania State University
M.S., Ph.D., University of South Carolina
Office: BNW 218
GSauer@fairfield.edu
(203) 254-4000 ext. 2741

Winston Tellis, Ph.D.
Camille & Stephen Schramm Professor of Information Systems & Operations Management
B.C., University of Bombay
M.A., Fairfield University
A.B.D., Stevens Institute of Technology
Ph.D., Nova Southeastern University
Office: DSB 1110
Winston@fairfield.edu
(203) 254-4000 ext. 2845

James L. Simon, Ph.D.
Professor of English
B.A., Rutgers University
M.M.C., Ph.D., Arizona State University
Office: DMH 106
JSimon@fairfield.edu
(203) 254-4000 ext. 2792

Joan L. VanHise, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Accounting
B.S., M.B.A., Fordham University
Ph.D., New York University
C.P.A., New York University
Office: DSB 2124
JVanHise@fairfield.edu
(203) 254-4000 ext. 3015