Housed in the University's signature building, Bellarmine Hall, the BMA occupies the lower level of the former residence of Walter B. Lashar family. Designed in 1921 in the English manorial style, this handsome structure was purchased by the Jesuits from the town of Fairfield in 1942 to serve as a foundational building for Fairfield University.
In 2008, Centerbrook Architect and Planners were charged with transforming spaces in the hall, formerly used by the University for storage and other utilitarian purposes, into a state of the art museum. A lead donation of $2.5 million from John Meditz '70 laid the foundation for transforming these dreams into reality. Further support was provided by the National Endowment for the Humanities, the Dolan Family Foundation, the Samuel H. Kress Foundation, and the Jost Foundation. Thanks to their generosity, along with the donations of a number of private individuals, the BMA has emerged as a space that is as inspired as it is inspiring; an organization that supports Fairfield's commitment to excellence in education, the arts, and the still-vibrant Ignatian tradition.