Fairfield University announces recipients of 1st annual Leaders in Campus Sustainability Awards

Image: Tod, Jennifer and James in the gardenFairfield University community members Lisa Newton, Jennifer Klug, Tod Osier and James Fitzpatrick will be honored with the inaugural 'Leaders in Campus Sustainability Awards,' given by the University's Program on the Environment. The founding of the awards comes in the wake of a significant Fairfield University initiative that has resulted in a reduction of the campus carbon footprint stemming from multiple green measures.

Faculty members who comprise the Environment Program Steering Committee (EPSC) created the award to recognize an individual or group that have made a demonstrated difference in the quality of sustainability efforts on campus. "To inaugurate the award, the EPSC believed it appropriate to acknowledge the very, very important contributions made in prior years by these members of the Fairfield community," said David Downie, Ph.D., associate professor of politics and director of the Program on the Environment who chairs the committee. "Thus, we are pleased to announce, via unanimous votes, the first winners of this award."

  • Dr. Lisa Newton, professor emeritus, Department of Philosophy and founder of the Program on the Environment, winner of the Leaders in Campus Sustainability Award for Lifetime Achievement for her efforts supporting campus sustainability and environmental education during her long and productive career at Fairfield.
  • James Fitzpatrick '70, of Fairfield, Conn., assistant vice president of administration and student affairs, winner of the Leaders in Campus Sustainability Award for Lifetime Achievement for his support of campus sustainability and student environmental activities during his 43-yearlong career at Fairfield.
  • Dr. Jennifer Klug and Dr. Tod Osier, both of Newtown, Conn., associate professors of biology, winners of the Leaders in Campus Sustainability Award for 2011-2012 for creating the campus community garden. Their leadership in creating support for this initiative, building the garden itself, overseeing its operation, and involving students in educational and co-curricular activities involving the garden has had a lasting and important impact on our campus. For more information, visit http://faculty.fairfield.edu/fairfieldgarden/

Presentation of the awards will be made during Earth Week in April 2013, along with the announcement of an additional winner for the 2012-2013 academic year.

Image: (L-R) Fairfield University faculty members Drs. Tod Osier and Jennifer Klug join administrator James Fitzpatrick at the campus community garden. They will be presented with Leaders in Campus Sustainability Awards during Earth Week 2013.

Bookmark and Share

Media Contact: Meg McCaffrey, (203) 254-4000, ext. 2726, mmccaffrey@fairfield.edu

Posted on November 29, 2012

Vol. 45, No. 122

About Us →

Admission & Aid →

Academics →

Life at Fairfield →

Parents & Families →

Alumni & Friends →

Athletics →