Fairfield University School of Nursing professor named to American Academy of Nursing's 2012 Class of Fellows

Image: Sheila GrossmanFairfield University Professor Sheila C. Grossman has been inducted as a fellow into the American Academy of Nursing (AAN), the most prestigious honor in the field of nursing.

Academy fellows are experts in their respective fields and represent the nation's top nurse researchers, policymakers, scholars, executives, educators and practitioners. The Fairfield University School of Nursing includes several other AAN fellows: Professors Kathleen A. Wheeler, Meredith W. Kazer, and Doris Lippman.

The coordinator of the Family Nurse Practitioner Track at Fairfield, Dr. Grossman is an award-winning author of textbooks, published articles, and undergraduate and graduate curriculum on the nurse practitioner role, critical care nursing, simulation teaching, palliative care, leadership, mentoring, and end-of-life care education.

She was recently named an expert on mentoring by the American Nurses Association and currently is providing mentoring consultation to multiple schools of nursing and health care agencies. Dr. Grossman received the American Journal of Nursing (AJN) 2009 Book of the Year Award for "The New Leadership Challenge: Creating A Preferred Future for Nursing," and the AJN 2007 Book of the Year Award for "Mentoring in Nursing: A Dynamic and Collaborative Process." Her recent book, "How to Run Your Own Business: A Guide for Nurse Practitioners," (2010) has proved to be quite popular.

Currently she is completing the ninth edition of "Porth's Concepts of Pathophysiology" which will be published in 2013 by Wolters Kluwer/Lippincott Williams & Wilkins.
For her outstanding contributions to nursing education, she received the 2011 Outstanding Nurse Practitioner Faculty Educator Award from the National Organization of Nurse Practitioner Faculty and the 2009 Connecticut Nurses Association's Josephine Dolan Award.

Image: New AAN fellow Sheila C. Grossman, center, with colleagues from Fairfield University's School of Nursing. From left to right: Professors Kathleen A. Wheeler, Meredith W. Kazer, Lynn Babington (who is also dean of the School of Nursing), and Doris Lippman.

Bookmark and Share

Media Contact: Meg McCaffrey, (203) 254-4000, ext. 2726, mmccaffrey@fairfield.edu

Posted on November 26, 2012

Vol. 45, No. 120

About Us →

Admission & Aid →

Academics →

Life at Fairfield →

Parents & Families →

Alumni & Friends →

Athletics →