Eight-team field for Old Spice Classic completed

Image: Men's Basketball - MatthewsThe eight-team field for the Old Spice Classic has been finalized with the addition of Indiana State University. The first seven teams were announced earlier in the year which included Fairfield University, Arizona State University, University of Dayton, DePaul University, University of Minnesota, University of Texas Tech, and Wake Forest University.

The Classic takes place at the HP Field House at ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex near Orlando, Fla. The event will feature 12 games over three days with the championship game coming on Sunday, November 27 between the winners of the two brackets. Each team will compete in one game per day.

Three teams collected a bid to post season play in 2010-11, including NIT appearances by Fairfield and Dayton as well as an NCAA appearance by Indiana State. Notre Dame captured the 2010 Old Spice Classic title, while Florida (2009), Gonzaga (2008), North Carolina State (2007), and Arkansas (2006) have also won the tourney title.

For information regarding the Old Spice Classic, please visit the tournament website.

Bookmark and Share

Media Contact: Jack Jones, (203) 254-4116

Posted on March 31, 2011

About Us →

Admission & Aid →

Academics →

Life at Fairfield →

Parents & Families →

Alumni & Friends →

Athletics →