Fairfield University's School of Engineering and Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation present the 'Excellence in Mathematics and Science Awards' to area high school students

Fairfield University's School of Engineering and the Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation honored high school students from Fairfield and New Haven counties for excelling in math and science studies at the 14th annual 'Excellence in Mathematics and Science Awards.' The event took place on the Fairfield campus, and recognized high school juniors from public, private and Catholic schools.

Evangelos Hadjimichal, Ph. D., dean of the School of Engineering, founded the awards with the intention of encouraging young people to pursue the study of engineering, technology, science and math in college. "We need inventors, medical researchers, and visionaries in science and technology; these young students we are honoring today are likely to become exactly the contributors to those disciplines that are essential to the welfare of our nation."

Dr. Hadjimichael and Susan Hitchcock, Sikorsky's director of community relations, presented 34 students with medals and certificates for their academic accomplishments.

Urging the budding engineers and scientists to "bring your gifts to bear," Rev. Paul J. Fitzgerald, S.J., senior vice president for Academic Affairs at Fairfield, noted that there are great world problems to be addressed - from climate change to purifying drinking water to waste disposal. "You are needed now more than ever, and not only in the United States ... A lot will be asked of you," Fr. Fitzgerald advised.

Image: Excellence in Mathematics and Science Awards
Hyan Woong Chang, of Cos Cob, Greenwich High School; William Juan, Darien High School; Erin Aoyama, of Darien, Convent of the Sacred Heart; Michael Altamura, Stamford High School; and Richard Brellsbach, of Norwalk, Brien McMahon High School.

Image: Excellence in Mathematics and Science Awards
Rohan Mosby, Bassick High School; Brandon Holland, Harding High School; Graeme Keleher, Fairfield Ludlowe High School; Richard Embry, Bullard Havens Voc. Tech.; Mark McNeil, of Bridgeport, Kolbe-Cathedral High School and William Mendoza, Central Magnet High School.

Image: Excellence in Mathematics and Science Awards
Nicole Hitchman, of New Haven, Hyde Leadership School; Jeff Hurlbert, of West Haven, Platt Voc. Tech. School; Daniel Evanich, Joseph A. Foran High School; Katherine Siroky, of Newtown, Lauralton Hall; and David Griffin, Jonathan Law High School.

Bookmark and Share

Media Contact: Meg McCaffrey, (203) 254-4000, ext. 2726, mmccaffrey@fairfield.edu

Posted on June 9, 2010

Vol. 42, No. 312

About Us →

Admission & Aid →

Academics →

Life at Fairfield →

Parents & Families →

Alumni & Friends →

Athletics →