Excellence in Mathematics and Science Awards

Media Advisory


High School students from all over Fairfield County and New Haven County will be in attendance for this awards presentation.

What: Fairfield University School of Engineering and Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation 'Excellence in Mathematics and Science Awards' luncheon. The event recognizes high school juniors from 34 area schools for their outstanding work in science and mathematics.

When: Tuesday, June 16, noon

Where: Alumni House, on the Fairfield University campus.

Background: Sponsored by the School of Engineering and Sikorsky Aircraft Corp., the event recognizes students from public, private and Catholic schools. This year's program will include a talk by Dr. Ryan Munden, assistant professor of engineering, who will describe the panorama of nanoscience phenomena and useful implementations of the growing industry of nanotechnology in a speech entitled, "The New Miraculous Behavior and Uses of Matter at Nanoscale Dimensions." Also speaking will be E. Vagos Hadjimichael, dean of the School of Engineering; Susan Hitchcock, director of community relations at Sikorsky; and Karen Pellegrino, director of admissions at Fairfield University.

The recipients are students at high schools as follows: Fairfield Ludlowe High School, Fairfield College Preparatory School, Fairfield Warde High School, Amity Regional Senior High School, Ansonia High School, Bassick High School, Bethel High School, Brien McMahon High School, Bunnell High School, Christian Heritage High School, Common Ground High School, Convent of the Sacred Heart, Greenwich High School, Harding High School, High School in the Community, Joel Barlow High School, Joseph A. Foran High School, Kolbe-Cathedral High School, Lauralton Hall, Masuk High School, Newtown High School, Notre Dame High School, Ridgefield High School, Shelton High School, St. Joseph High School, Staples High School, Stratford High School, Sound High School, Trinity Catholic High School, Trumbull High School, Westhill High School, Weston High School, and Wilbur Cross High School.

Bookmark and Share

Media Contact: Meg McCaffrey, (203) 254-4000, ext. 2726, mmccaffrey@fairfield.edu

Posted on June 11, 2009

Vol. 41, No. 357

About Us →

Admission & Aid →

Academics →

Life at Fairfield →

Parents & Families →

Alumni & Friends →

Athletics →