Phi Beta Kappa

Phi Beta Kappa is the oldest and most prestigious collegiate Honors society in the United States. Founded in 1776 at the College of William and Mary, Phi Beta Kappa has granted membership status to only 11% of the colleges and universities in the United States. Fairfield's Zeta Chapter of Connecticut was established in 1995 and every year the chapter's PBK faculty have the pleasure of inducting new undergraduate members into the society. Students may not apply to PBK. Faculty members of the local chapter research the achievements of junior and senior undergraduates who major in the liberal arts disciplines and decide to invite a small number of exceptional students into the ranks of PBK.

Honors students are always strongly represented among those chosen for this distinctive recognition. Below is a list of the 2014 graduates who were inducted into Phi Beta Kappa:

Bayan Abunar (inducted as a junior)
Margaret Andrew
Kaitlyn Banaszynski (inducted as a junior)
Lauren Bruchansky
Emma Cannon
Owen Corey
Meghan Gallucci
Stephanie Hurley
Arturo Jaras Watts
Loan Le
Lisa Naples
Paul O'Brien
Hannah Pattridge
Luke Record
Erin Sullivan
Taylor Trenchard

The following Honors students from the class of 2014 were inducted into Phi Beta Kappa this past year as juniors:

Kathryn Dennen
Margaret Siu