Sigma Theta Tau Mu Chi

son_sigmasealThe Mu Chi Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International was introduced to Fairfield University School of Nursing in 1989. As the semester came to a close, the newly appointed Acting Dean of the School, Dr. Nancy Fry Fasano, and several faculty members, alumnae and students formed an honor society that would promote and recognize leadership, scholarship, research and outstanding achievement in the nursing profession. Chapter endorsement by Sigma Theta Tau International followed in 1992.

Since then, the Chapter has grown to nearly 400 members. In 2001, the Mu Chi chapter received four newsletter awards at the 36th Sigma Theta Tau International Biennial Convention.

Members of Mu Chi are committed to fostering nursing leadership, research, and creativity. Standards for membership include demonstrated excellence in scholarship and/or exceptional achievement in nursing. Several Mu Chi members are active on both regional and international committees of Sigma Theta Tau International. Remarkable in its short history, the Mu Chi Chapter has received the prestigious "Chapter Key Award" four times. This award is presented to active chapters who exhibit overall excellence in achieving the goals and mission of Sigma Theta Tau International.


President:  Nancy Manister, DNS, FNP-BC
Vice President:   Catherine Sumpio, PhD, RN
Secretary:  Kathy Saracino, MSN, RN
Treasurer:  Karen Burrows, DNP, MASHSM, RN, CCRN, C-EFM
Faculty Counselor:  Jaclyn Conelius, PhD, FNP-BC and Theresa Quell, PhD, RN
Governance Chair:   Carole Pomarico, MSN, MA, RN
Newsletter Editor:  Rose Iannino-Renz, DNP, APRN, FNP, MSN, CWS


Mu Chi Committees:


The Governance Committee shall oversee Bylaws compliance, make recommendations for Bylaws changes, and oversee member and chapter eligibility issues.
Committee Chair: Carole Pomarico, MSN, MA, RN


The Leadership Succession Committee shall develop members in organizational leadership roles across the span of their careers, mentor members to assume organizational board and officer positions at all levels of organizations. The committee shall select nominees and prepare the biennial ballot. The ballot will be sent to the Board of Directors of Sigma Theta Tau International at least (2) months prior to the meeting and to the chapters at least one (1) month prior to this meeting.
Committee Chair:   Kathleen Lovanio, DNP, APRN,


2015-16 Programs
Induction of New Members Saturday,
October 24, 2015
Dolan School of Business
12:30 - 2 pm
Leadership and Mentoring Dinner Spring 2016




October 29, 2015, Thursday
Nursing's Role in Veterans Health
Speaker:   Peny Kaye Jenson, DNP, FNP-C, FAAN, FAANP
Dr. Jenson is the national APRN health Policy Liaison for the Department of Veterans Affairs ofice of Nursing Service, Washington, DC
Sponsored by: Mu Chi Chapter, UConn and Mu Chi Chapter, Fairfield University
Location:   TBA 

Biennial Convention Awards

  • Mu Chi received the International Mildred Adams Heritage Award in 1997.
  • Chapter Key Award for Excellence in 1995, 1997, 1999, and 2001.
  • Chapter Newsletter Awards Awarded at the 36th Biennial Convention:
  • Editorial Excellence Award - "Nursing Research and the Law" by Gayle Sullivan, JD, RN
  • New Article Award - "Nursing Research, Evidence Based Practice" by Patti Dykes and Kathleen Wheeler
  • Special Edition Award - "Volunteerism"
  • Feature Article Award - "Making a Difference: World Wide Volunteering" by Karen Ann Simmons

Related information

Sigma Theta Tau International | Region 15