Center for Faith & Public Life

The Center for Faith and Public Life (CFPL), anchored in the rich tradition of Catholic Social Teaching, is an internationally recognized forum committed to advancing the Common Good, which is the creation of the social conditions that allow for the full flourishing of the human person. Through multi-disciplinary academic research, events, publications, teaching, and initiatives, the Center provides a forum for engaging issues where religion and public life intersect.

Founded in 2005, the Center has the following goals:

  1. To create interdisciplinary support for faculty research and teaching that relates to Catholic Social Teaching
  2. To offer a public forum for discussion and dialogue on religion and politics
  3. To encourage civic engagement and service-learning opportunities for students
  4. To develop strategic ways for the University to assist the local community through partnering with faith-based and community-based organizations
  5. To act as a central point of information for University-wide civic engagement with the local and international communities
  6. To make Fairfield a leader in migration research, teaching, and outreach by engaging with faculty, students, and community organizations involved in migration work.
cfpl_immigration_ad_3 cfpl_impact

Rev. Richard Ryscavage, S.J.
Director
rryscavage@fairfield.edu; (203) 254-4000 ext. 3393

Melissa Quan
Director of the Office of Service Learning
Associate Director of the Center for Faith and Public Life
mquan@fairfield.edu; (203) 254-4000 ext. 3455

Julie Mughal
Assistant Director
jmughal@fairfield.edu; (203) 254-4000 ext. 3505

Michelle Towster 
Administrative Coordinator
mtowster@fairfield.edu; (203) 254-4000 ext. 3415

Karen Parkinson 
Program Coordinator
kparkinson@fairfield.edu; (203) 254-4000 ext. 3059

Mary Crimmins
Operations Assistant
mcrimmins@fairfield.edu; (203) 254-4000 ext. 2097 

Christopher A. Pates, MA ‘15
Advancement Liaison, Center for Faith & Public Life and Major Gifts Officer
cpates@fairfield.edu; (203) 254-4000 ext. 2519    

For more information please contact:
The Center for Faith and Public Life, Canisius 200
cfpl@fairfield.edu or (203) 254-4000 ext. 3415

cfpl_ad_newsletter

 

 

Related Links

Office of Service Learning